For those of you who haven’t heard of what Odysee is, it is basically an app that backs up your pictures and videos from your smartphones automatically to other home computers. Google has now closed the deal with Odysee for acquisition. We think that this move is for Google to prepare and upgrade their photo sharing and back up features.
Most likely, some of Odysee’s media backup and sharing features will find their way to Google’s social media platform. There are rumors saying that Google is preparing to launch Photos as a standalone service. We think that Odysee’s features may be able to push that.
Not only backups, but Odysee will enable users to set up private and automatic sharing with other users. The development team also developed an API to integrate the service with 3rd party applications. The app will keep HQ copies of the recently assessed photos and videos to the home PCs and online. The app will predict which pictures will more likely to be accessed, and keep the lower quality backups of those files.
Odysee has been closed down on the 23rd of February, and the development team of the app has joined forces with Google+. The app has now been removed from Play Store, but users that already have Odysee will be able to download their photos and videos still.